Most Recent: News

Weekly Warp-Up: Post-PAX East 2014 Edition

No, that’s not a typo. Welcome to the Weekly Warp-Up, your weekly wrap-up of the biggest and the best articles posted at Warp Zoned this week…

The 2014 edition of PAX East is in the books and while the show was smaller this year, there was still plenty of announcements and surprises that emerged from the show floor.

For example, did you know that “Expedition” will be the first expansion to TitanFall? Or that Firaxis is hard at work on a spiritual successor to Alpha Centauri known as Civilization: Beyond Earth? Or how about whatever is going on in this first piece of concept art from The Behemoth’s Game 4? If you knew all that, you might also like to know that Super Time Force is just a few weeks away from release and that Soda Drinker Pro (with full Kinect support) will soon be available for the Xbox One.

Our PAX East coverage wouldn’t be complete without our annual PAXpocalypse List honoring “The Best of PAX East 2014.” The Warp Zoned staff picked 11 great games including two we recently previewed: Evolve and Hyper Liht Drifter.

The rest of the Weekly Warp-Up can be found after the break. (more…)

Posted in News |

New Releases: Dark Souls II PC, Lego The Hobbit Wii U, Trials Fusion PC, More


It’s delayed gratification day in this week’s new release roundup as most of the titles listed below were already previously released on other platforms.

For example, Dark Souls II is now available for the PC, Lego The Hobbit journeys onto the Wii U, and Trials Fusion flips onto the PC. Finally, Putty Squad makes the jump from the PS4 to the Vita.

If you’re looking for something absolutely brand new this week, there’s NIS America’s latest dungeon-crawling RPG Demon Gaze. It’s available for the Vita and it features some prettu stunning artwork.

Posted in News, PC, Vita, Wii U |

Daily Scoop: April 18, 2014 – South Jersey Geek Fest

For those of you who are local, I really hope you can make it to the South Jersey Geek Fest tomorrow! Anthony Amato and I will have a table to show off RESISTOR_ and Kobolds. Stop by, play our games, high five us!

There’s not too much going on in the way of deals that I haven’t already mentioned at some point this week. You’ve got a few new sales over at the Humble Store, like Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure for $17.99, Toki Tori 2+ for $7.49, and Professional Farmer 2014 for $6.66. And there’s a new Daily Deal over at Steam – it’s Next Car Game for $20.09.

That’s all for deals! But of course, I’ve still got some t-shirts for you…


Posted in Daily Scoop, Gaming Etc., News |

Tales of Hearts R will be released for Vita in North America this year

Hideo Baba, the Brand Manager of the Tales franchise for Bandai Namco, has confirmed that Tales of Hearts R will be released in North America sometime this year. The Vita game is a remake of a Tales title that was originally released for the DS in 2008.

That was all Baba was ready to announce at this point, though it was more than Bandai Namco wanted him to say. The publisher originally posted the announcement on YouTube this morning, but quickly pulled the video. Thankfully, the Internet put it back.

Baba promised that more information regarding Tales of Hearts R, Tales of Xillia 2 and 2015′s Tales of Zestiria would be revealed soon. Maybe some of it will even be things Bandai Namco wants us to hear.

Posted in News, Vita | Tagged

First PS4 trailer of MLB 14: The Show slides home

Sony has released the first trailer for the PS4 version of MLB 14: The Show and, even though dozens of players make an appearance, there’s not a single New York Met among them. Not even the guy striking out! Anyway, be sure to check out the trailer above to get a glimpse of the awesome graphical power of the PS4 and the game’s “completely rebuilt stadiums, redone lighting engine (check out the self-shadowing at night), vastly more detailed crowds, grass and player hair rendered down to the last blade/strand, and much more.

MLB 14: The Show will be available for the PS4 on May 6.

Posted in News, PS4 | Tagged

Your TitanFall is ready to be the best-selling game of March 2014


TitanFall-mania has engulfed the NPD Group as the market research firm confirmed today that Respawn’s shooter is the best-selling game of March 2014.

March releases dominated the latest bestseller list as InFamous: Second Son (#2), South Park: The Stick of Truth (#3), Dark Souls II (#5), and Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster (#8) all cracked the top ten. The retail release of Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition continues to hang on as it checks in at #10 once again. The console port of Mojang’s popular game will surely get a boost in May as Sony will make the disc-based version Minecraft: PlayStation 3 Edition available on store shelves. According to Joystiq, total hardware/software/accessory sales were up 3% over March 2013 with a 78% increase in console sales according for the majority of the sales bump.

The complete top ten for March 2014 can be found after the break. (more…)

Posted in 3DS, News, PC, PS3, PS4, Vita, Wii U, Xbox 360, Xbox One | Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Next-Generation Sales Update: PS4 at 7 million sold versus Xbox One at 5 million shipped


When we last checked in with Sony, the consolemaker was crowing that the PlayStation 4 had reached worldwide sales of over six million systems sold. That was in early March. And now, as of April 6, the company has confirmed they’ve sold more than seven million consoles across the globe.

“The response from the global gaming community for PS4 has been overwhelming and we are truly humbled that gamers are selecting PS4 as their next generation console of choice,” said Andrew House, President and CEO of Sony Computer Entertainment. “The PS4 journey has just begun, and although we are still facing difficulties keeping up with the strong demand worldwide, we remain steadfast in our commitment to meet the needs of our customers, and surpassing the wildest expectations of gamers by delivering new user experiences that inspire and engage. We look forward to unveiling many of these experiences to our fans in the coming months.”

So what about the Xbox One? Microsoft previously announced they sold over three million consoles in 2013. Today (via Xbox Wire), they revealed that their worldwide next-generation total currently sits at over five million. However, that number represents the total number of Xbox One consoles the company has shipped to stores, and not how many have been purchased by gamers.

And just to make sure we cover all the bases, Nintendo has sold 5.86 million Wii U consoles since the system’s launch in late 2012. That figure is current as of December 31, 2013 and will be revised during a financial report on May 7.

Posted in News, PS4, Xbox One |

Nintendo Download: Super Mario Bros. 3, Lego The Hobbit, Golden Sun, more


Retro gaming fans will find a lot to like in this week’s Nintendo Download. Two more Game Boy Advance titles (the RPG Golden Sun and the futuristic racer F-Zero: Maximum Velocity) have made their way onto the Wii U eShop. They’re joined by one of the greatest games of all time, Super Mario Bros. 3. Mario’s third adventure will be available as separate downloads through both the Wii U eShop and the 3DS eShop.

Also available this week is the Wii U edition of Lego The Hobbit. The tie-in game will be available for Nintendo’s home console on Tuesday, April 22, just a few weeks after the Blu-ray/DVD release of the second movie, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

Finally this week, a quartet of additional titles were added to Nintendo’s Wii U and 3DS eShops. You can find more information on all of this week’s new game downloads after the break. Also, FYI, one of the Wii U’s best launch titles, ZombiU, has received a permanent price cut this week. The game, which was previously priced at $59.99, can now be had for $29.99. (more…)

Posted in 3DS, News, Wii U | Tagged ,